Information for players

Upcoming concerts are shown below with rehearsal details.

Upcoming concerts

Autumn 2017

Sunday 15 October 2017 at 3:45 pm at St. Edburg's Church, Bicester
Conductor: Sam Laughton

Mancini: The Pink Panther
Poulenc: Babar the Elephant (narrator Lynn Farleigh)
Vaughan Williams: The Wasps Overture
Saints-Saens: Carnival of the Animals (selection)

Poulenc orch. Françaix (Babar): 2222 2211 T perc hp narrator 22'
Mancini: 222+alto sax1 2331 T perc 4'
Vaughan Williams: 2222 4230 (or 2200) hp T perc 10'
Saint-Saens: tba

Rehearsals

  • Thursday 14 September 7:45-10:00pm: complete run through
  • Thursday 21 September 7:45-10:00pm: strings only
  • Thursday 5 October 7:45-10:00pm
  • Thursday  12 October 7:45-10:00pm
  • Sunday 15 October 1pm-3pm: rehearsal, then concert at 3:45pm; finished by 6pm

Spring 2018

Sunday 04 February 2018 at 3:45 pm at St. Edburg's Church, Bicester
Conductor: Sam Laughton

Brahms: Hungarian Dances Nos. 5 & 7
Beethoven: Violin Concerto (soloist Emily Sun)
Nielsen: Helios Overture
Smetana: Vltava (from Ma Vlast)
Sibelius: Finlandia

Brahms: 3222 4230 T 3perc 4'
Beethoven: 1222 2200 T 42'
Sibelius Finlandia: 2222+cb 4331 T perc 9'
Smetana: 2+pc222 4321 T 3perc hp 12'
Nielsen: 2+pc222 4331 T

Rehearsals:

  • Thursday 11 January 7:45-10:00pm: complete run through
  • Thursday 18 January 7:45-10:00pm: strings only
  • Thursday 25 January 7:45-10:00pm
  • Thursday  1 February 7:45-10:00pm
  • Sunday 4 February 1pm-3pm: rehearsal, then concert at 3:45pm; finished by 6pm

Summer 2018

Sunday 01 July 2018 at 3:45 pm at St. Edburg's Church, Bicester

Conductor: James Ham

Rameau: Overture from Les Indes Galantes
Fauré: Pelléas et Mélisande Suite
Ravel: Pavane pour une infante défunte
Mendelssohn: Symphony No. 3 "Scottish"

Rameau: 1202 0000 5'
Fauré: 2222 4200 T hp 18'
Ravel: 2122 2000 hp 7'
Mendelssohn: 2222 4200 T 41'

Rehearsals:

  • Thursday 7 June 7:45-10:00pm: complete run through
  • Thursday 14 June 7:45-10:00pm: strings only
  • Thursday 21 June 7:45-10:00pm
  • Thursday  28 June 7:45-10:00pm
  • Sunday 1 July 1pm-3pm: rehearsal, then concert at 3:45pm; finished by 6pm